Final Tally – 2016 in Review

2015’s totals for all the writing: 95,786 words, 952 pages of handwritten stuff.

2016’s totals for all the writing: 21,372 words, 423 pages of handwritten stuff.

I didn’t meet any of my writing goals this year, but it was still a major priority in my life when I wasn’t distracted by the stressful process of buying a house, and that’s important to me. I did meet my goal of 50 books read in 2016 but just barely, finishing Sandman Vol. 7 right before midnight on December 31st. 2016 was the year of the Sandman, a series of graphic novels I was introduced to by Bear’s cousin and that I fell in love with. I can’t wait to continue with them in the new year, but even so, they did not make my list of top five books for the year. It was tough to choose, honestly.

5. Harry Potter & The Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling – The funny thing about this one is this is where I originally STOPPED reading the series. The beginning with the tournament just seemed so boring to me, but the second time around, as an adult, I loved it.

4. The Beast by J.R. Ward – RHAAAAAGE! This book had me laughing and almost crying in turns as we revisited Hollywood’s relationship with his Mary. It was everything I’ve come to expect in Black Dagger Brotherhood novels, continuing their hold as one of my favorite series.

3. Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas – The third book in the Throne of Glass series, and to date my favorite, though Empire of Storms comes pretty close. I loved everything about this book, most of all that it was where we were introduced to Manon Blackbeak, who has become my favorite character in the series. I absolutely adore her.

2. Fried Green Tomatoes by Fannie Flagg – Finally! The reading of this book was overdue and at the same time, read at the right time. I have always loved the movie and having finally got to read the original novel the movie was based on, I was not disappointed. I loved the insight into southern women’s minds and lives across time. Fantastic read all around.

1. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake – This novel made it to number 1 largely because of how much it surprised me. It came in one of my Owlcrates and I took it on vacation with me, only to be blown away by it. I devoured it like I was starving and it was the last piece of food in the house. I loved all three of the queens and the ending had me squealing, jumping up and down out on the balcony of the hotel we stayed in at the beach. Fantastic read, I highly recommend!

In 2017, I am going to lower my reading goal to 40 books. I want to write at least one to three pages a day, with an ultimate goal to just finish what I start as a writer. I want to catch up on Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changeling series and Yasmine Galenorn’s Otherworld series. I also want to keep up my calendar journal I started back in July.

As big as last year was for us, this year promises to be even more so. One way or another, it will be an adventure for my household.

 

This entry was posted in Kelswitching & Reflecting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

