Where’s Kel? Attention Span?

The first quarter is shot for me. One of my goals for 2016 was to write four stories, PLUS NaNoWriMo in November. To accomplish that, I had to have a story done every quarter, give or take. Unfortunately, one of my other goals for the year is coming to fruition and putting everything else on the backburner. Almost daily, I feel excitement thrum through my veins so much that I just want to run around the office squealing. I’m regularly tempted to apologize to my boss because between now and the end of March, I’m probably going to have the attention span of a bunny.

I’m sorry. I’m so sorry.

2016 has already been a wild ride for me. I’m on the schedule as a guest columnist and my first piece ran back in January. I’m set to write blogs for two different sites (I’ll link them once they’re up) in the next couple of months, and I’m trying to stick to my goal to FINISH stuff this year. So far, that’s not going so well…

I’ve revisited my kryptonite and put the first chapter up on Wattpad, hopefully to obligate myself to keep writing it. These characters have haunted me since I was in fifth grade. When I was in high school, we took a trip to Gettysburg and one night in a hotel room, I stayed up late laying down more pieces of their world and more characters that joined the bandwagon. They rarely leave me alone for long. I could write an entire series of I Write Dangerously posts about these characters and the ups and downs we’ve been through. I may do that, once I get my attention span back.

Bear and I are moving into a new phase of our lives and I can feel the changes slowly sinking in. It was a seamless transition from high school kid to college student to young adult, I barely noticed it while it was happening. It’s odd that time continues to speed up, but it’s almost as if life is slowing down and I’m definitely noticing it now. We watch HGTV regularly. I’ve been watching so much Gilmore Girls and Roseanne and Everybody Loves Raymond and for the first time in my life, I’m feeling the parents’ side of things. I do not have a kid yet, but just that level of adulting is right around the corner for me.

And of course, my writer’s mind has to stick its nose in the conversation. I’m watching these shows and they’ve all been off the air since before mobile Internet was quite the phenomenon it is today. The economy was different, people were different. I’m watching these shows and all I can think about is how I’d love to see an updated version of Roseanne, where Becky and Darlene are begging Mom for a smart phone or tablet, and there’s questions of whether college is truly worth it because of the debt and the lack of good jobs out there. So, of course, I’m tempted to write it myself. Not a script, but short stories about the ins and outs of normal people’s lives. I’ve never intentionally tried to be funny, it’s an interesting challenge for me as a writer.

Again, maybe when I get my attention span back. The only things I can focus on today are things that forcibly take control of my attention without any effort from me, like video games and reading. Those activities are like touchstones right now, keeping me on the ground as we move into the final stages of becoming real adults and owning our own home. Eeee!

This entry was posted in Kelswitching & Reflecting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

