The NaNoWriMo Tag – 2015

I’ve been a little absent lately because I have been scrambling like a mad woman to finish my current WIP before NaNoWriMo begins and I’m happy to report that I just finished it. It’s about five pages short of what I was expected and I’m not thrilled with how I wrote the ending, but it’s done and complete and I finished a story! To celebrate, I’m going to do the NaNoWriMo tag as it was created by Kristina Horner on YouTube. Check out her original video here. Here we go!

  1. How many times have you done NaNoWriMo?

I’ve attempted and won NaNo a grand total of once. Last year was my first time attempting it and while there were lows, it was a lot of fun and in case you couldn’t tell by my blog and Twitter, I am super excited to do it again.

2. How did you first find out about NaNoWriMo?

Honestly, I do not remember. I was in college, I know that. And because I was in college and working on my own projects, I decided I wasn’t going to even try it. I graduated in December 2012, had just finished a 100,000 word novel in November of 2013, and finally got around to trying it in 2014.

3. What was the name of the first novel you attempted with NaNoWriMo?

Daughter Mine. It was heavily inspired by Daughters of Darkness by Halestorm and basic mother/daughter issues of expectations and the desire to be true to yourself. In a nutshell.

4. Give us a one sentence summary of what you’re writing this year.

Felon witch is shunned by her family and hunted by the brother of the man she killed. There’s more to it than that, but let’s just say I’ve got some outlining to do…

5. What is the best writing advice you’ve ever been given?

Just write. That’s it. Nothing fancy or complicated, just write. You can never get better if you don’t practice and the simple fact is that writers write. The rest comes after that.

6. Did you ever take a year off from NaNoWriMo? Why?

Last year was my first year and I’m doing it again this year, so nope.

7. What is your biggest inspiration when deciding what to write?

For the first half of October, I was scrambling for an idea because I had nothing. Then I got two ideas back to back. One came from watching Orange is the New Black, the other from Richie Rich, the 1994 movie filmed at Biltmore Estates in Asheville. Ideas can pop up in random places, I just try to be open to them.

8. Read us the first sentence from one of your novels.

Because it is what I have on hand as I write this post, I’ll put in the first sentence from the story I just finished. Don’t laugh.
“Thunder crashed with lightning as waves battered the shore.”
I’m so eloquent. :p

9. Why do you love writing?

This is a loaded question. I got into writing as a wee 4th grader because my teacher was so damn good at her job and she encouraged and nurtured my writing skills. It was because of her that I discovered I even liked writing. All the way through grade school and college, it was just a constant with me. Especially now that I’m back to writing by hand on a regular basis, it just feels good. Even if the story isn’t that great, it feels good to get that stuff down on paper and create something tangible. If I have a writing heavy day where the story unfolds so smoothly and I get a lot of words or pages, it’s almost a euphoric feeling.

So there you have it, my NaNoWriMo tag. Remember, if you’re interested in learning more about this event and possibly signing up, check out nanowrimo.org for more information. See you at the keyboard! Kelswitch, over and out.

This entry was posted in National Novel Writing Month, Writers & Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

