Fangirling All Zombies – Reading Roundup

Fangirl, How The White Trash Zombie Got Her Groove Back, and Earth Bound. Those are the books I read for the month of August. It was a surprisingly slow month. I’m started on The Exile though, the graphic novel based on Outlander. I started it at the beach, but haven’t had the time to sit down and finish it yet.

I read How The White Trash Zombie Got Her Groove Back by Diana Rowland first this month. It is the fourth in the White Trash Zombie series and I read on her site that she is contracted for two more. I am anxiously waiting! We learn some very cool things about zombies in this book and the action is killer! I have to admit, I was kind of rooting for Phillip and Angel together together, but my husband doesn’t agree with me. Phillip was a bad zombie baby in the previous book but they seem to have patched up and get along well. And frankly, sometimes Marcus is a butt.

The biggest surprise to me about this book was some of the themes Rowland tackled. It’s just stuff you don’t see all that often in novels with a badass chick. Near the beginning, they decide they have to get rid of their cellular devices to avoid being tracked. That’s all well and good, but Angel’s new phone cost her a nice chunk of her monthly salary, she can’t just throw it away. And she’s not being frivolous, she’s acting just like anyone who is trying to climb out of the poverty hole on their own would act. Rowland handled her beautifully and kept it real.

There is also a scene where this man tries to take advantage of Angel. She goes through this whole thought process about women being taken advantage of and how she has been too, and (to me) it was just emotionally charged and meaningful and so well done. I loved it.

The next book I read in August was Earth Bound by Christine Feehan. I’ve read Feehan before, but I usually shy away if it’s not her Ghostwalkers or the Leopard series. That being said, I’m a sucker for earthy so I picked this one up at Walmart. It kind of hit the spot for my romance craving, but then it also reminded me why I don’t read Feehan that often. I mean no disrespect to her as an author, she’s great. But some of her storytelling and the elements she uses just don’t work for me as a reader. This book was not my favorite, but I did enjoy the ride for what it was.

And finally, the book I started at the beach and finished when we got back, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

Wow.

Wow.

Wow.

I really, really, really liked this book. I love the focus on Cather’s writing and how big of a part it plays in her life. The whole “new to college” theme was very nostalgic for me and if circumstances had been different, I feel like I could have been Cather. Hiding from social interaction, staying in my room all the time and writing. I was her, for the most part, in high school. Except I wrote original fiction in $1 composition notebooks. 

I love how it seemed that, despite Cather’s social anxiety, she was still the center of her family. Even though she had her own issues, she was the one picking up the pieces when her father fell apart, or her sister ended up in the hospital. She was the one to hold her family together, even when they wanted to pull themselves apart. It gave her character a genuine feel of strength that even she wasn’t aware of, she just thought she was doing what she was supposed to.

The book community says you can better appreciate Fangirl if you’re in our age bracket and grew up with Harry Potter, since the fandom in question in this novel is kind of the book’s version of Harry Potter. I’ll admit, I’ve read books 1-3, but haven’t finished the series. Even so, it was still easy to appreciate Simon Snow and what he meant to Cather.

And yes, Harry Potter is on my reading list. I’m going to eventually read all the books 1-7. I just have to get my hands on book 5, that’s the only one I’m missing.

Fangirl is one of those YA books that seems to be everywhere. If you have no idea what it’s about, you’ve still most likely seen it somewhere. Here’s a tip. Give it a go. If you’ve ever immersed yourself in a fandom, if you’ve ever been dedicated to writing, if you’ve ever felt social anxiety, give it a go. It’s worth the read. And the collector’s edition, which is what I have, is wonderful. I love that it comes with its own ribbon.

That’s all I have for this Rambles Roundup. For more info on these novels, mosey on over to Goodreads or check out the authors’ websites. Thank you for reading and until next time, Kelswitch over and out!

This entry was posted in Reading & Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

