Dragons, Zombies, and End of the World Scenarios

I haven’t done one of these in months, so it’s time to revive it. It is Reader Rambles Round-up! The end of July has snuck up on us and I’m so ready for fall, but I can’t believe it. Time flies these days. Anyway, let’s get down to it.

I’ve had a pretty good reading month, but I have to look on Goodreads just to see what all I’ve read this month. First on the list is The Crossroads of Should and Must by Elle Luna. This book smelled like my elementary school art classroom, I kid you not. It was a cute little read and got me to thinking about what I want out of life, which is still under debate but whatever. It’s a quick read, beautifully put together, and inspiring.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern finally made its way to my read pile too. This book was slow going as far as reading pace, but it was beautifully done and I adored it. There was so much depth and the story and plot were pieces together so intricately. I loved it! There are quite a few discussions about this book on YouTube so if you’ve read it and you get a chance, you should look those up.

Struck by Lightning by Chris Colfer was a random buy that kind of struck out, pardon the expression. The narrator was so full of himself and I wanted to connect with him because he was a writer and so focused on his goals, but I couldn’t. And the book has a rather abrupt ending that I didn’t care for. I tried watching the movie on Netflix but fell asleep. So there’s that.

Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts. I’ve loved the movie ever since we brought it home on VHS. I’ve been hunting a DVD copy but so far Walmart is letting me down. As expected, the book was fantastic, better than the movie. If you get a chance to pick this up and you liked the movie, DO IT. Even if you’ve never seen the movie, DO IT.

Low, Vol. 1: The Delirium of Hope. This was a graphic novel I picked up on a whim and I really enjoyed it. Reading graphic novels is a new experience because you would think they’d be a fast read and they are, but I enjoy taking my time and absorbing the illustrations and how they fit in with the dialogue. It’s a cool reading experience. I will be picking up volume two whenever it comes out.

The Reason for Dragons. This unique little gem of a graphic novel was bargain priced and a hard cover at that, so I picked it up for Bear to read. It’s a fun little story and I wish there’d been more to it! I don’t know if there are plans for a sequel or anything of that nature, but again, I’d buy it.

White Trash Zombie Apocolypse by Diana Rowland. This is the third book in the White Trash Zombie series and it didn’t disappoint. I love Rowland’s take on zombies, and I haven’t really been a big fan of the zombie trend. I don’t watch The Walking Dead, but I do catch iZombie on the CW whenever I can. What makes the White Trash Zombie series so good is Angel’s journey to becoming a better person. She started out as a druggie high school dropout but three books later, she’s in such a different place. It’s wonderful to watch and I can’t help but root for her every step of the way.

As for iZombie, those comics are on my buy list. High priority, actually.

I’ve begun the next White Trash Zombie book, How the White Trash Zombie got her Groove Back, but that will have to fit into next month’s round-up. Until then, happy reading and have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Reading & Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

