Ink to Film – Serena

Let me preface this blog by saying I have little issue with most movie adaptations. While everyone else hates it and says nothing but bad things, Bear and I are over in the corner shaking our heads. “That was a pretty good movie. Of course it wasn’t going to match the book one hundred percent.” I acknowledge this. I understand it. I agree with it. Here comes the but.

But.

I read Serena when I was in college. I think it was for my Appalachian Lit class and though I had a hard time getting into it, when I did I was hooked. I fell in love with the characters and the story and the ending just sent chills down my spine. Ron Rash is a fantastic writer and I adore his work. If I ever decided to go to graduate school, I’d go to Western Carolina just because he teaches there. I’d love to take a class with him. I did my senior seminar project on his work.

So, when word came down through the grapevine that Serena was to become a movie, I was super excited. I did my senior project in 2012 and there was a single image from the movie that I included in my presentation. That being said, I didn’t get to see the movie until last night. It’s 2015. It’s been three years.

I’ve read online that the movie was a labor of love that ran into one problem after the other and even the all star cast didn’t help matters much. This movie never saw theaters. A lot of folks online also said that it was a disappointment. Bear warned me to not get too disappointed if it didn’t measure up.

Well, it didn’t measure up. But I’m not disappointed. The movie itself was excellent, if a bit slow. Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper put on a hell of a performance. It just wasn’t as well written as the book. There was a lot of depth left out. Serena wasn’t as much a force to be reckoned with in the movie as she was in the book. I feel as though it might have made a better mini-series, to better accommodate everything that the movie could not.

That all being said, I highly recommend if you are even slightly curious about it, watch the movie. Then go buy the book and read it. I adore Serena and it will always hold a special place in my heart because of how good it was, and it helped me get a good grade on my senior project. But it’s easy to work with something you already love.

Serena is coming to Netflix next month so you can catch it there. Then visit your local bookstore. Dooooo iiiittt!

This entry was posted in Reading & Books, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

