BookTube: The New Frontier

In the grand scheme of the Internet, this is nothing new, but it’s new to me and worth talking about here as it is a budding obsession.

BookTube.

People who make videos on YouTube almost exclusively about books. I don’t know how I’ve been on the Internet this long and haven’t really noticed this phenomenon until recently. In a time in my life when I’m not writing much and I’m feeling unsettled about things, BookTube has been a welcome distraction. It relaxes me. I watch videos at work. I watch them while doing the dishes. I watch/listen while moving furniture around in my office.

I love it. I’m slowly expanding it to more than three channels that I follow but my main two right now are Kristina Horner, who I found during NaNoWriMo, and Katytastic. I have never been one to actually check YouTube for my subscriptions’ updates, but I do now. And while I’ve noticed that a lot of these BookTubers talk about the same books/genres, it’s still fun. It’s still a distraction that relaxes AND encourages me to read more. To write because I want to, not because I feel like I have to. The latter has been part of what’s put the writing at sort of a standstill since NaNoWriMo. Actually, after I published my novella last year on Amazon, I got a job not long after and writing has been off and on since then.

That’s a year and a half of not feeling focused on writing. I’m beginning to feel the withdrawal. I think it’s making me grumpy.

BookTube is also giving me ideas for the Friday Reader Rambles on the Kelswitch. Bookshelf tours. Monthly TBR updates. Book hauls, oh the book hauls. Showing off what I bought in books instead of just feeling guilty about the money spent. I like that concept. Also, Rambles Roundup where I talk about the whole month of reading.

Wait, I’m already doing that. Sort of. Kinda of. Just the once or twice. Ugh.

2015 hasn’t been nearly as focused as I would have preferred and it’s June, so it’s time to reevaluate and buckle up to make the second half of the year COUNT. Let’s do this!

If you love books and want to hear other people talk about books, check out the two ladies I linked above or just go to YouTube and search BookTube. You’ll find many, many channels to try out.

This entry was posted in Reading & Books, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

