Kelswitching Into Action

At the tail end of 2012, I gleefully graduated with a Bachelor of Arts and absolutely no idea where to go next. To that point, the big end goal was graduate from college. There was no plan for after, which put a huge cramp on things when people would ask the “What’s next?” question. For the better part of the last year and a half, I’ve been caught somewhere between the obligation to be a responsible adult and figuring out how to achieve a lifelong dream of being a writer. I feel, since the moment that fancy piece of paper was placed in my hands, that I’ve been standing in place with my mouth agape.

What now?

There’s a lot of talk about my generation and how we’ve come about at the tail end of an economic crisis. There’s a lot of talk about my generation being lazy, with our heads in the clouds. All I can say to the latter is that I feel my peers are biding their time, waiting for the right time to make their mark. What I can say to the former is that that’s just the tip of the iceberg. Honestly, when I got out of college and stared at my prospects on Indeed.com, I felt a little betrayed.

From the time I was a small thing, my generation was told to go to college. Get the degree. Get a better job where you won’t have to struggle like you’ve watched your parents do. And at times, it feels like that was all a pretty lie. There is no magic wand to wave to ensure a better life for yourself. Some people work hard and find themselves in the right circumstances at the right time to make it all work. The rest of us just set the alarm and brew our coffee and make sure the gas tank is full.

So where does writing fit into all of this?

For the last year, I’ve been a member of a Facebook group called 10 Minute Novelists. In this crazy Internet-driven world of self-publishing and debates on the right way to market and whether or not traditional publishing has any merit anymore, there was the concrete proof I needed. It can work. It’s the evidence staring me in the face that this can still work. That I can still be a writer, even if I’m not where I thought I’d be at 24.

Actually, scratch that. That’s a lie. I had no idea where I’d be at 24. I’m just thankful for the job I have and the little extra left over after bills are paid. Bear and I have been blessed in many ways and we’ve got the wiggle room we need to grow. That’s enough for 24.

10 Minute Novelists and the spin-off group called the Writing Wenches (and bartender) continuously make me wonder what the hell I’m waiting for. The perfect time will never come. The perfect idea will never manifest itself on my screen until I drag it out kicking and screaming from shitty first draft to finished product. I can’t worry about the expectations of others, because frankly that’s been part of what’s put my writing on hold over the last year. Being academically driven, I’ve spent too much my life worrying about it. I’m tired of it. I’m a grown woman, making my own money. It’s time I worried about my expectations for myself. To that end, I’m pleased to make a few announcements.

My novella, published January 2014 on Amazon and still available for just .99 cents, is coming to Wattpad. I’ve decided to move forward with the novel I wrote that follows it and as I work on edits for it, I’m going to be releasing Shadows Rising a chapter at a time on Wattpad for you to enjoy, for free! You can try it there and if you feel like making a donation to help a girl out, buy the novella. 🙂

In addition to the full novel, I’m going to be editing and eventually will release a short story about the events between the novella and the full novel. At this time, I do not have release dates for these two, but expect those chapters on Wattpad soon.

Also on Wattpad, this past Sunday I began posting for a new story titled Saving the Queen. This is something I’ve been writing at work when things are slow and you can expect at least one new chapter a week. I have a few other things I’m considering for Wattpad but nothing definite yet. Stay tuned and sign up for my brand new newsletter! It will go out at the end of each month and include updates found on my blog delivered right to your inbox!

I’d like to take a moment to give a shout-out to the ladies (and gent) of the Writing Wenches. I may not participate that much in the group, but you all make me laugh and inspire me every single day. Keep doing your thing!

Kelswitch, over and out.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writers & Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

