Puppy Rambles

Today is the start of something new! Welcome to Saturday Rambles. In my last post, I mentioned my plans for April in blogging and working on my novel. A to Z Challenge and Camp NaNoWriMo. You can read more about that here.

That blog was written early on Tuesday and by the time it posted on Wednesday, things changed. Settle in and let me tell you all about it.

For the past two weeks, I’ve had puppy fever. Bad. I wanted a dog, but more than that I wanted a puppy. Something to love and care for and raise. We’ve been talking about it, going in circles and giggling too much at puppy videos on YouTube. Then something amazing happened.

During my lunch hour on Tuesday, I had to run to my hometown to take care of something for work. Since I was in the area, I decided to stop by the house for lunch. I never do this because I work twenty minutes away. Let me reiterate, I’m almost never home during this time of day.

After enjoying a nice lunch of leftover pizza and rich chocolate cake, I prepared to drive back to work. I was at my car door, about to get in and drive off when something brushed up against my leg.

AHHH! Oh. It’s a puppy.

I have no idea where she came from. There was no one around and a couple of my neighbors confirmed they didn’t know anyone with any dogs that looked like her. I left her with a neighbor across the road, to see if anyone came looking. When I got off work, no one had. Wednesday, I took her to the vet to check for a microchip. There wasn’t one.

Three days in, she’s ours. Unless someone knocks on my door with photographic evidence that she’s theirs, she’s one of us now. During the day, she’s been hanging out with the Matron and her two dogs while I’m at work. At night, she snuggles up on her little pallet on the floor and plays with her duck and her tennis balls Bear picked up for her.

I wasn’t expecting a puppy right now. It’s intimidating to be the main caregiver for another living creature. So far, she’s smart and she’s learning fast but she’s still a pup. Which means she does bite herself when she’s playing. Teeth first, brain second for now.

I’m still doing the A to Z Challenge, but I’m not sure about Camp NaNoWriMo. We’ll have to see how the next two weeks go with Pixie. Yes, we named the puppy Pixie. I’ve been singing “I wish that I had Pixie Pup” to the tune of “Jessi’s Girl” in the kitchen. She doesn’t howl at my singing, which is a good sign. Oh, and she growled at Melisandre on Game of Thrones. That’s my girl!

FB_IMG_1426633520615

Pixie Pup, the day she found me

 

This entry was posted in Kelswitching & Reflecting, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

