Springing Forward

This is the best time of year to be a college student. The cool and comfortable weather reminds me of days coming back to my dorm after morning classes, setting my backpack down by the foot of my bed, and just drawing in a deep breath of the fresh air coming in from my open window. It was a relief after a couple of months of having to walk to class in snow and ice. At the time, my college closed for nothing. Professors might cancel classes, depending on how far from campus they lived. If they lived in town, bahahaha, you’re going to class!

When it hit 45 degrees after a hard winter, college students would come out in droves to sunbathe on the quad, relishing the fine weather after so many days of rushing from dorm to class and back again to get out of the freezing weather.

I miss being a college student, but I like being an “real adult” now. Something comes up that needs to be paid, I just whip out my card with my own money on it and pay the damn thing. There is no fussing and calling the parents to transfer some more money into my account. I do not miss those days, almost as much as I do not miss homework. Almost.

April is coming up and it promises to be a busy month for me. I’m tackling challenges I would’ve let slide by as a college student because April is a busy month for them too. Exams are just on the horizon and everything under the sun comes due at the same time. It is not a good time for trying something that takes a lot of time.

But I’m not a college student anymore. I have free time when I get home for the day. There isn’t a pile of homework waiting to make me despair. I can tackle this and I will succeed when I do. On that note, I’m pleased to formally announce I’ve signed the Kelswitch up for the A-Z Challenge. 30 Days, 26 letters, Sundays off for good behavior. I did this challenge last year while I was still on BlogSpot and it was a lot of fun. I can’t wait to do it again.

Part of the challenge is visiting other blogs. It’s good networking and I’m looking forward to sharing any/all good writing blogs I find over at I Want to Write, though that blog is not participating, per se.

In addition to the A-Z Challenge, I’m also participating in Camp NaNoWriMo to finish a novel I started almost two months ago. I’m less than 10k in and the novel is going to be at/over 50,000 words when it’s done.

April is going to be fun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writers & Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Springing Forward

  1. Pingback: Puppy Rambles | Carolina Kel

Leave a Reply

