Sunday Coffee

I’m actually writing this on Friday night, while Bear snores in his cave because he has to work on Saturday and I’m in the office vibing out to music, reminiscing about my wedding, and wanting to murder Adobe Flashplayer.

Hopefully by the time this posts I’ll be done with it, but I’m working on a photo book on Shutterfly with pictures from our wedding and it’s got me thinking back on that day, just three short months ago. So, of course, I busted open the playlist I put together and man, the power of music never fails. It fills me with excitement and happiness, the meanings we’ve attached to each song that was played.

In particular, “Simple Man” by Lynyrd Skynyrd always strikes a chord with me. From nearly the beginning of our relationship, it was understood between us and the Matron of Madness that when we got married, she and Bear would dance to that song. For a long time, listening to it filled me with excitement for that special day. Now? It still makes me feel. Excitement. Joy. Pride that I married into this family.

“Nothing Else Matters” as done by Godsmack, with that powerful piano intro. That song has a lot of meaning to Bear’s parents and the lyrics speak to me as well. I can remember very clearly the way they danced to it, a calm moment in the chaos of that day.

Bear and I danced to “All of Me” by John Legend for our first dance, but I think my favorite from that night was “Break In” by Halestorm. It was a slow song with a different sentiment, but it’s my favorite band and again, it just hits home to me.

Sitting here in the night by myself, I have one wish for the world. That we all have at least one memory in life, one moment, that brings us as much excitement and joy twenty years later as it did while we were waiting for it to happen. My wedding is definitely mine.

Peace, y’all. Kelswitch, over and out.

This entry was posted in Kelswitching & Reflecting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

