Holy Rambling Races Batman!

So yesterday afternoon, during a particularly slow spot at work, I finished The Scorpio Races and I’ll be honest with you, I audibly whimpered when I realized I had read the final line in the story. It’s a good thing the office was empty…

This is my fifth book by Maggie Stiefvater and it was, thus far, the hardest to get into. Not because it’s not well written or the content isn’t engaging, quite the opposite in fact. It’s just that from the very beginning this book had a different tone to it than anything I’ve read by her until now. I did laugh in parts, like I usually do, but I also gasped. I also said “Nooo” like the characters could hear me, their invisible, creeping spectator for everything personal and public.

Never thought about being a reader like that, have ya?

This book is more intense and makes The Raven Cycle seem almost whimsical. Reading the actual race had me on the edge of my seat and that weird mixture of excited/anxious where I wanted to turn the page so badly, but at the same time I was afraid to.

Just like The Raven Cycle, I think this book will have a lasting impression on me. The world of Thisby is so real and the fact of the water horses so simply put that it’s hard to deny their existence when reading. This book took me out of myself in a way that most books accomplish, but only a few do to this level. Coming out of that world, coming back to reality, was like waking up from a very vivid dream and being just a little unsure of what your consciousness is coming back to. Mommy, who am I?

Also, in the midst of homicidal water horses, Dove reminded me a lot of my steel pony. Made of the same stock, but not bred for racing and often underestimated as such. Yes, I just compared my 2002 Mustang V6 to a real horse. Well, real in the book world. You know what I mean. I won’t give away the ending, but I will say this, don’t underestimate Dove. She’s awesome and so is her rider, Kate “Puck” Connolly.

I’m not sure if I’m ready to jump into the Shiver trilogy by Stiefvater just yet, because when I do read them I want to do them back to back. However, in the meantime, tune in to the Kelswitch tomorrow for the first ever Rambles Roundup, where I’ll share everything I’ve read over the last month for your reading pleasure. Stay tuned and happy reading!

This entry was posted in Reading & Books, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

