Of Housewives & Trolls

Yesterday was a big day in the house of Bear and Kel. It was the Royal Rumble pay-per-view, one of the biggest events on WWE’s calendar. Bear is a lifelong fan and has been watching since he was a wee thing, so of course he loves to have a get-together for pay-per-views. Our people come over and we eat and watch grown men body slam each other. It’s awesome.

Over Christmas, I discovered something unexpected about myself. We had a gathering of our friends to exchange gifts and Bear and I hosted. I got off work early that day and spent my afternoon cleaning the house and cooking dinner. It was a modest meal of spaghetti, but the experience was very satisfying. My inner fem-Nazi is groaning as we speak. Anyway, I repeated that process yesterday. I spent the entire afternoon cleaning and straightening the house up, then I cooked supper. Fried chicken, mashed potatoes, vegetables, and mac and cheese. I fed five people including myself, with plenty to spare. It was really cool.

The Royal Rumble did not disappoint, for my crew anyway. My favorites were in the big match and I loved it. One moment that stands out is when Bray Wyatt and the Boogeyman faced off. It was short lived but it was send-chills-down-your-spine cool. Bray Wyatt did an amazing job and lasted through the majority of the match. Dean Ambrose put on a hell of a show and I have to admit, when he and Roman Reigns faced off against Kane and Big Show as the final four in the ring, I might have had a fangirl moment.

Then the unthinkable happened. Roman Reigns won the Royal Rumble, guaranteeing his spot at WrestleMania 31.

CUE THE TROLLS!

I have to admit. Roman Reigns is not my favorite. He never really has been. I also admit I’ve done my share of bitching about the current state of WWE storylines, but last night the trolls came out of the woodwork against this latest development. Reports were popping up on Facebook that Superstars were having trouble leaving the arena because people were so upset and they kept Roman Reigns back for a while longer to let it die down, for his safety.

For. His. Safety.Triple H

What is wrong with this world? I don’t like a lot of WWE storylines, but I also can’t stand Daniel Brian. That doesn’t mean I’m going to physically threaten him for doing what he does. The same applies to John Cena, who I would be happy if he just didn’t show up on WWE programming for a year or more.

We live in a entitled world. The generation that grew up with the motto that everyone is a winner believes everything should be done their way, because no one told them no. If it’s not done their way, they’re entitled to raise hell and hurt others. Or that’s what the mentality seems to be.

I’m a firm believer that if you don’t like something, remove it from your life. Don’t just stand in one spot and bitch about it. Take your happy self elsewhere and leave the ones who do like it in peace. And for the love of all that is good, give Roman Reigns a break. The poor guy can superman punch like no one’s business, and he’s trying to work on his mic skills. He’s just human.

Act like a grown-up. Deal with it.

Also, for your viewing pleasure, Mona Pants says it best.

This entry was posted in Kelswitching & Reflecting, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

