Next in Text?

“What genre do you write?”

“Mystery. You?”

“Paranormal romance,” she said, her tongue hesitating and tripping over the heavy words. Her heart was beating out of rhythm and uncertainty was a physical affliction.

That’s what it’s like for me when people ask me that question, and these days I have no idea what I write. Over the last few years, my reading has expanded beyond the romance genre and I think my writing is beginning to catch up to that. The result is that I have no idea what I want to write anymore. I have no idea what story is going to captivate me and make its way to the “hunting down an agent and publisher” phase.

The world that Shadows Rising was set in had its chance. Ten years I spent with it and I’m tired. I want to take a break from that cast of characters and dream up new ones whose connections will surprise me again. I don’t know what that means for my novella as I left it, but I guess you could say I’m having a writer identity crisis.

So what does that mean when you think of the expression “writers write” ? It still applies. I’m keeping blank paper and pens on hand and writing little snippets as they come to mind, experimenting and testing the waters with different things. Maybe I’ll find my next novel idea, but in the meantime, I’ll still be writing. I’ve got The Writer’s Adventure and The Daily Writer to help me along the way.

CoffeeAndWriting

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writers & Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

