White Trash Zombies

Random book finds are the absolute best. We often stumble across series that become our favorites. We dish authors out of $1 bargain book bins and become more than willing to dish out $20 for their latest hardback. It’s a beautiful thing.

I mentioned this in my Sunday post that Matron of Madness, Twisted Sister, and myself all got the same book in our stocking this Christmas. Even White Trash Zombies Get the Blues, by Diana Rowland. I finished it on Tuesday and I am so excited to write about it for this edition of Friday Reader Rambles.

Matron, Twisted, thank you for allowing me to share in this reading experience. It was a step outside my usual tastes, but I loved it! Angel was a badass chick, but not in the way one usually expects. To be honest, reading Angel Crawford feels similar to reading Anita Blake, but there is a huge difference between the two. Anita may have her issues and insecurities, but she is secure in her position in the world, for the most part. Angel is clawing her way back from the bottom to figure out just where she fits in.

She’s a character you root for, that you want to see succeed and prove her critics wrong. You want to see her redeemed. I suppose, and this may be stretching it, there’s the same appeal to her as there is for the characters of Orange is the New Black.

I love Rowland’s take on zombies too. It’s different and something I can sink my teeth into, when I really don’t get into zombies at all. The Walking Dead isn’t my thing.

I won’t give anything away, but I think a lot of people in my circle of friends would enjoy Angel’s adventures. I’m going to try to get Bear to read it; he is a huge Anita Blake fan and I think he’d love Angel too.

I’ve got the first book in the series, My Life As A White Trash Zombie, but for now it’s going to take a back burner. First it was because my awesome brother-in-law gave me the boxed set of the Shiver Trilogy by Maggie Stiefvater in hardback. Now it is because Sarah Addison Allen has a new release coming out on the 20th. It is a sequel to another book I got for Christmas so I want to read that one first and be ready for the release of First Frost. I’m super excited because Allen is coming to my area on a book tour and this will be my second time meeting her. The first time was last year when Lost Lake was released.

So much book love going on. It’s going to be a great year to be a reader. Tune in for the next edition of Friday Reader Rambles!

                                                   

This entry was posted in Reading & Books, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

