Sunday Coffee

It’s that time again. Sit down for some coffee and let’s chat.

The first day of the year saw productivity. I got the mangled mess that was my kitchen sorted. It’s truly amazing what a difference one organizer can make. So much more space. Then the second day of the year started off as utter crap. My phone messed up (going to have to ship it off for Samsung to repair) and some frustrating things at work. Bear made it all better though by reading my mind. We had an excellent dinner, hit the bookstore (don’t ask how much I spent, I regret nothing), and then ice cream before we came home to play Destiny with our friends.

I’ve started a little something this year that I’ve never done before. I’ve always kept a diary but I’ve never set out with the intention of writing something positive from each and every day down. That’s my goal now. Find something good from each day and write it down. It’s my new “Happy Jar” for 2015, that I’ll hopefully have an easier time keeping up with. I’m also following along in this book called The Daily Writer. 365 days of writing things. I have high hopes for making this an excellent year to remember.

The first book I’m reading in 2015 was a stocking stuffer from my super awesome in-laws. Matron of Madness and Twisted Sister (in-laws in question;)) and I are all reading this book called Even White Trash Zombies Get the Blues by Diana Rowland. It’s awesome enough that when I was in the bookstore Friday night, I picked up another in the series, and I’ve never really been into the zombie craze. I don’t watch The Walking Dead. But this book seems to be the exception to the rule. In a way, it kind of reminds me of Anita Blake. I’ll give more details after I finish it in a Friday Reader Rambles post.

Let’s close out our coffee session with some music. Bear and I discovered over the holidays that the girl who played Cindy Lou Who in How the Grinch Stole Christmas grew up to be the lead gal in The Pretty Reckless. The band was already high on my watch list, but now I’ve been listening to their music more and will probably buy the album soon.

This entry was posted in Kelswitching & Reflecting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday Coffee

  1. susie jay says:

    Oh I read that someone else did the diary thing where they commented each day and it was a great success. Good luck with it and with the year ahead.

  2. Found you through 10 Minute Novelists. I like this idea of a post a having a chat over coffee. 🙂 And the song you threw in at the end is awesome. I’ve been a fan of theirs for a while, but haven’t yet managed to listen to their newer stuff, so thanks for sharing!

  3. I love your “I regret nothing” about what you spent at the bookstore. There’s an awesome used bookstore near my sister, and I always spend way too much money there whenever I go visit her, but I can never bring myself to really regret it.

Leave a Reply

