Resolving for 2015

It’s a familiar tradition, the making of New Year’s Resolutions, but just as familiar is the failure to follow through. Often, it seems folks question why they even bothered making a resolution. My question is how can you not think about what you want in the new year?

Humans are not meant to be in stasis, we are dynamic creatures geared for change. It’s survival. If you can’t adapt, you quickly fall behind and risk losing everything. Setting goals for ourselves are just part of how we make sure we’re moving forward, and every little bit counts.

2014 was an amazing year for me. The only thing it lacked was a trip to the mountains, which I haven’t laid eyes on since November of 2013 and I miss them dearly. However, this is longing isn’t part of a failure, it’s just something to add to the list for the new year. I’ve got the job. I finally got married. I’ve got every opportunity in the world available to me and chances are, so do you.

Most of my plans for the new year involve organization and self-improvement and writing. My world revolves around writing, after all. I’ve made resolutions in the past to blog every week, to keep up with my word counts every day, and I succeeded there. It’s time to up the ante this year. And on that note, I’d like to make the formal announcement.

Beginning tomorrow, Thursday, January 1, 2015, I’m starting a new blog. I’m calling it I Want to Write, and you can find it at http://www.supportwrite.wordpress.com.  My goal is to provide a supportive writing environment for any who even dabble with pen and paper. The idea came to me because I’ve had a couple of people in in my circle of friends and family approach me quietly about writing, either for my opinion on something they’d done or some advice.

Writing is the one thing I’ve always felt I was good at and it’s become apparent to me as I’ve gotten older that there are a ton of people out there who want to write, but may not be sure of themselves or their craft. This project is for them. My plan is to update it once a week and add resources to the site over time for easy access.

You don’t have to be seeking publication to be a writer. All you have to do is string some words together on paper to convey a message or emotion. We don’t require any fancy tools, just something to write with/on and an imagination. I am really looking forward to exploring the wonderful world of writing more this year and I hope you are too.

See you in 2015. Kelswitch, over and out. cropped-2014-01-05-04-05-06-1-copy.jpg

This entry was posted in Kelswitching & Reflecting, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

