Saying Merry Christmas

In the last year and a half, I’ve come to believe the biggest problem this world faces is a lack of consideration for each other. What matters is what we are taking, not what we are giving. How can we ever hope to achieve equality when one person’s needs are put above another’s for no reason other than that they feel so entitled? I admit, the task of putting others before myself is a daily thing that I have to remind myself of. It’s natural instinct to look out for number one, I think. But we’re an advanced society. We’ve made so much progress just in the last century that we should be able to do this, to stop ourselves and think about that other person.

But we don’t.

So people die in the streets in situations that should have never gotten that far. A good education is a privilege, still. People find themselves hiding something as beautiful as love just because it’s for their own gender. Religion becomes a nasty debate of who is right and who is going to suffer for all eternity, who is being persecuted for the sake of an equality they openly mock themselves. It’s such a twisted world we live in.

I can’t recall that I’ve ever mentioned this on WordPress but it’s something I used to talk about on blogspot fairly often. I’m not Christian. I’m Pagan. I believe in a God and Goddess and the wheel of the year. I feel Her presence with me when times are hard and I believe I am Her much loved daughter.

I wrote a blog a long time ago with the title of “I Wished I Believed in God” because it would make my life so much easier to be Christian. I’d be more connected to those around me, but I can’t deny how I feel and I shouldn’t have to. My ancestors travelled here to the land of the free and too many have died for this privilege of being myself that it would be a dishonor to them to deny myself.

And it still happens anyway. In public situations. People ask me about my pendants and I dodge. I don’t want to explain the idea of the triple goddess, maiden, mother, and crone to someone who might not understand or want to understand. It makes me uncomfortable because I know there are people out there who would mock my faith and despise me for following it.

And dear friends hide their love for someone of their own gender because our world is so filled with hate that they have to protect not just themselves but that loved one. This is not as bad as it was fifty years ago, but the problem still exists and it is heartbreaking.

This Christmas, I ask any and all who follow the Kelswitch, casually read, or just now stumbled across my little corner of the web. When your instinct is to dismiss and mock, stop and think. Consider the person you have an issue with and how they feel. It’s such a basic concept that we try to teach children and still don’t understand as adults. Treat them as you would want to be treated. If you want your relationship valued and respected, value and respect theirs, no matter who it is with. If you want your faith and religion respected, give that same respect to someone of another faith, and don’t use the fear of hell as an excuse to be less than what God would expect of you. A loving human being, willing to be kind to a neighbor of another path.

Happy Yule. Merry Christmas. Happy Hanukah. Happy Holidays. Bright blessings on every single person on this earth, regardless of who they are or what they’ve done. We all need a little light in our lives.

This entry was posted in Kelswitching & Reflecting, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saying Merry Christmas

  1. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful story of yourself, Carolina. Happy Holidays to you!

Leave a Reply

