Making All The Words

It’s been a slow month for blogging, and I’d like to blame it on the usual holiday madness and jetlag from NaNoWriMo.

Yeah, we’ll go with that.

Time for an update. The Composition Challenge (200 pages, 1 story, 31 days) is coming along, although not on schedule. I’m at 80 pages when I should be well past 100, but I reason that it’s like National Novel Writing Month, what counts is that I’ve got stuff I didn’t have before. Specifically, my goal is to FINISH this story. How that turns out is up in the air and that’s okay.

Even with the holiday madness in full swing, I’ve got one eye turned towards 2015. Just like last year, my main goal when I think about writing for the new year is to do something that will make me money. If that sounds incredibly shallow and naïve, let me just point out here.

You can’t live on paper, and I’ve got bills to pay. I don’t want to make a fortune, just enough to justify quitting my day job and dedicating myself to writing full time without guilt. Just like at the end of 2013, and at the end of 2012 when I was handed my Bachelor of Arts, I have no idea how to do that.

Okay, technically I do know how. Write a novel, edit it to death, find agent, find publisher, get publishing contract, BAM! Life as a published author to make all your dreams come true. But I’m one of those annoying people that doesn’t want to put anything out there that I don’t believe in 150%. And I question EVERYTHING I write.

What I’m writing for the composition challenge, in a $1 notebook from Dollar General, has the potential to be something I believe in, that I want to send to publishers. It’s a beautiful love story, but I have to do it justice before I would be comfortable trying to get it published, and it’s got a long way to go. But every word scribbled when work is quiet, every page written while Bear watches wrestling, is a step closer to the dream. The moral of this story?

Keep writing.

Writer's Clock

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writers & Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making All The Words

  1. I can SO relate to this, especially the “edit it to death” part. And, like you, I’m wary of putting something out there that I’m not totally satisfied with. This is why I’m sitting on a nearly-finished novel….I need to get off my bum and see if I can salvage it. Let’s keep each other motivated! 🙂 2015 will be OUR year!

Leave a Reply

