NaNoWriMo Wrap Up

Thanksgiving has come and gone and along with it, the end of November and National Novel Writing Month. My final word count, according to Microsoft Word, was 50,024 words. NaNoWriMo.org validated it as 50,013 words, but whatever. I won. I wrote 50,000 words in less than thirty days, since I finished on the 29th, right before we went to celebrate the Frog Queen’s birthday.

We both had a margarita with dinner.

My impressions after my first year of National Novel Writing Month. Would I do it again? Ask me again next September. Was the story I wrote much better than a pile of shit? Eh, that’s debatable. One thing is for sure though, it was a fun ride. Writing just for writing, not worrying about anything but meeting the goal. There are elements to the story that make it worth going back and reworking, someday. I’m happy to wave goodbye to November and move forward with new projects though.

I think this is the first time I’ve mentioned it on the Kelswitch, but I’ve got something in the works that I want to unveil in January. I also came up with an idea yesterday to do another challenge before the end of the year. I write in composition notebooks, the dollar black and white ones, and they have 200 pages. In high school, I wrote whole stories in those two hundred pages. I want to try that again. I’m calling it the Composition Challenge. 200 pages. 1 story. December 31st deadline.

If I start Friday, that’s about seven pages a day. I think I can do it. This should be fun.

Below is my word counts from November. 🙂

November 1 – 5,039
November 2 – 2,009
November 3 – 519
November 4 – 511
November 5 – 1,030
November 6 – 374
November 8 – 1,236
November 9 – 2,477
November 10 – 2,006
November 11 – 2,192
November 12 – 1,672
November 14 – 105
November 15 – 3,674
November 16 – 2,564
November 17 – 1,821
November 18 – 4,791
November 19 – 522
November 20 – 858
November 23 – 2,452
November 24 – 303
November 25 – 150
November 27 – 2,793
November 28 – 3,421
November 29 – 7,505

This entry was posted in National Novel Writing Month and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo Wrap Up

  1. M.R.R. says:

    Congrats on finishing.

Leave a Reply

