NaNoWriMo Week 3 Update

A while back, I was browsing the American Horror Story Facebook page and I came across something that bothered me. It was nothing from the show itself or its Facebook administrators, but a random comment that stuck in my craw as a writer.

“I’m waiting for the actual story to start.”

My Merriam-Webster Dictionary app defines story as “An account of incidents or events.” Now, I’d love to hear how the new season of American Horror Story doesn’t fit that definition. Maybe it’s not as exciting of a story as some would have liked, but it is a story nonetheless.

As a writer, I feel very strongly about story and stories. There are a million different ways to tell a story and countless stories out there, begging to be told. That’s the great thing about National Novel Writing Month. It encourages people to write a story to completion, when they may have otherwise never gone past “Once upon a time” or “It was a dark and stormy night.”

All stories have some merit, it just takes the right person to see it and carefully polish and shine it so everyone else can see the value too. To me, the story of this season of American Horror Story is utterly captivating. To me, the story of Daughter Mine is captivating enough that I can stomach spending a month with these characters. Some of the stuff I’ve written thus far may be a little boring, but there are elements to this story that speak to me, that beg me to work through the crud because there are more gems yet to be found.

It’s hard to believe we are past the half-way point in National Novel Writing Month. The end will be here before we can blink or type “The End” but the thing to remember as we close in on that time is that this month means progress. Even if you only wrote 2,000 words or if you wrote 70,000 words, that is content you did not have on October 31st. You’ve done something and whether or not you are a winner on the NaNoWriMo site is irrelevant. Do what you can, challenge yourself as a writer, and the rest will come in its own time.

Happy writing everyone. I’ll leave you with another NaNoWriMo parody I found on YouTube.

This entry was posted in National Novel Writing Month and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

