NaNo Week 2

Happy Writer Wednesday everyone! Today would be an excellent day to steel your resolve and do your catching up on NaNoWriMo or, if you’re actually on track, gloat about it and read a book for fun. Either way, we are in NaNoWriMo week 2 and it’s going along for better or worse.

One thing that has been really cool about NaNoWriMo for me personally is that it’s giving me a taste of what it’s like to be a professional author and on a deadline. It’s one thing to impose a deadline on yourself, but another entirely to have one imposed on you by an outside force. For the first time since I was in college, I’ve got expectations outside of myself to write. Even if no one is going to slap an F on it for an incomplete.

Because I want to write this and I’ve got a deadline looming, it’s forcing me to carve out the time to write. Regardless of what’s going on at work or at home, I have to set aside some time to write so I can keep up and not disappoint myself. Even when we’re dealing with yellow jackets getting into the house and the possibility of having to bomb if we can’t get rid of them, I still have to write.

By the by, I’m pretty sure we did get rid of them without bombing. Thanks mostly to lots of spraying and Bear getting absolutely fed up and pouring boiling water over where we are sure the hive was. The cold weather helped too.

I’m still excited about this project and the rest of the month working on it. Whether or not 50,000 words will cut the entire story remains to be seen, but I am already thinking about what comes after this. I may change my mind at the end of the month, but right now I want to write another novel. I’ve also got a couple of ideas for this blog, once NaNoWriMo is over. But we shall see how things go.

Stay tuned and keep writing!


Finding this song tickled me pink because this is a parody of a song we listened to A LOT my freshman year of college. Maestro could sing it word for word. Ah, memories.

This entry was posted in National Novel Writing Month. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

