Evolution of Life

In addition to Saturday marking the start of National Novel Writing Month 2014, it also marked another sort of beginning. One of my college buddies married the love of her life in Florida. Because of our own wedding a couple of weeks ago putting the strain on our regular budget, Bear and I were unable to make the trip down to see it. I eagerly looked at the pictures as they began to appear on Facebook and she made a beautiful bride, which was no surprise.

The strange thing about looking over the wedding pictures is that I know the bride. In college, we shared bathrooms and laughter and late night ravings about the stress of classes. When did we get past that stage of post-adolescence and being young adults and become actual adults? She is the first of my very inner circle of friends to get married.

When I went to the NaNoWriMo interest meeting a week ago, I had a similar sensation. Looking around, it seemed like mostly college age folks. The ones who are still enjoying the days of getting up late for a 10am class and staying up until 1am working on papers. Here I am with a complete Bachelors degree and I’m married. My Sundays aren’t about catching up on homework anymore. It’s all laundry and grocery lists.

It’s weird.

Life keeps surprising me because I never expect it to change. Somehow, it feels like things will always be the way they are now. I’m old enough to know better but it still gets me every time. Even so, I look forward to the changes. I look forward to seeing who of my inner circle will be the first to have babies, to land their dream job, to buy a house.

These are such normal things and my group is by no means run of the mill. We’re all unique with our own flavor of weird and different, but we still find ourselves sharing the same experiences as other people our age. Bear and I are a world away from where we were a year ago and that’s a good thing. It’s not perfect, but we’re moving in the right direction. Things don’t have to be perfect to be everything you ever could have wanted.

To my college buddy, congratulations hon. May you and your new husband have all the happiness in the world. 🙂

This entry was posted in Kelswitching & Reflecting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

