Ready. Set. WRITE!

November 1st arrived with rain and cold. We woke up this morning and our friends in the mountains were covered in snow. Bear is playing Destiny as usual. I’m not sure what I’m going to do when he no longer goes straight to the game when he gets up on the weekends. It’s become a routine over the last month and a half. November brought with it a new routine for me though.
Last night, after midnight and hastily throwing together a playlist, I began my National Novel Writing Month. Before I passed out on the couch at 2am, I’d gotten in 2,400 words. As of the writing of this, I’m at 4,100. My goal for today is 5,000 and tomorrow, I want at least 2,000. My discipline is not always great and life has a nasty tendency of getting in the way of daily word counts, so I need all the advantage I can get.
If you follow me on Facebook, you know that I’ve been wrestling with two ideas for NaNoWriMo. One is the Bloodborn, which I’ve been trying to write for years and thought I’d finally finish, and the other is New Shiny, called Daughter on the NaNo website. As you should be able to tell from that last statement, Daughter is the one I’m writing this month.
It’s been a while since a story has captured my mind so strongly that I know what music I should listen to while writing it, what songs will speak to the story best. I hastily threw together the playlist last night but I’d been thinking about it for a day or so and it was easier than it’s been in the past to decide which songs went and which ones didn’t fit. That is a beautiful feeling.
As I told Bear, my muse is a spiteful bitch. I had my noble intentions of finally writing the Bloodborn and finishing their story for good. Then this story was laid out at my feet, a tasty morsel so tempting I couldn’t help but leap on it.
Right. Before. NaNoWriMo.
Last minute change of plans!
My hope for NaNoWriMo is that I do this story justice. That I don’t hate it come December. There’s only one way to get there though, and that is to write! 4,100 and counting. Get those fingers to typing!
Side note: To my two college friends who are also undertaking NaNoWriMo, I’m so excited you’re doing this! I can’t wait to see how it turns out for us all. We shall rock this!


The inspiration for New Shiny, aka Daughter.

This entry was posted in National Novel Writing Month. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

