NaNoWriMo – The Beginning

I think it’s safe to say that the National Novel Writing Month adventure has officially begun. It’s a safe assumption from you, dear reader, that I am an introvert who much prefers the company of my husband and a Xbox 360 controller to actual people in person. Keeping that in mind as truth, I ventured out tonight to meet strangers. Not just any strangers. No, of course not. Fellow NaNo’ers, I believe they called the group. That is, simply put, writers.
I’m sure I gave off my usual aura of reserved and shy, but it was an enjoyable experience and I would very much like to participate in the write-ins they plan on doing at this adorable coffee shop. Coincidentally, it’s right down the street from this great used bookstore. Methinks I may make up a rewards system for myself that involves word count = new books.
Very rewarding. Because the house we fondly refer to as the hobbit hole doesn’t already have enough books shoved into every nook and cranny.
Seriously though, I’m extremely excited about this. It would be all too easy to stay in my bubble of people, and never venture beyond work and my inner circle that gets together to play card games and drink on the weekends. I want more out of my life than that. One of the best experiences I had in high school, that I now wish I had seen through for all four years, involved a similar situation of timidly stepping into a room full of strangers that wanted to be a part of the same thing I did. The first time I stayed after school for a FBLA meeting.
I’m no stranger to writing. Last year, I wrote a 118,000 word novel. Close to 40,000 words of it was unnecessary junk but it was all written within a four month period, give or take. I do have one novella published to Amazon and ideas for more. I may be a newb to NaNoWriMo, but I’m no newb to writing lots of words. Still, I think this experience will be amazing. I expect to test my discipline, mostly. I expect to write the novel that has been bouncing around between my head and the page for over ten years. I also expect to possibly have a community of writers. I won’t say it’s a first, but it kind of is. I’ve had several friends over the years, including college buddies and the Frog Queen, who dabbled in writing but I don’t think any of them ever really took it too seriously. It was fun for them, as it should be for everyone.
I suppose what I’m seeking is a collective of colleagues to compare notes with as I prepare to move towards serious attempts at publication.
Life holds so much promise now. I can’t wait to see what lies ahead.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writers & Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

