The Monsters of Templeton

The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff. It reminded me a lot of Sarah Addison Allen, but with some darker aspects thrown in to make the claims of magic even more real. The monster that surfaces from the bottom of the lake is at once mysterious and very real, a entirely believable twist to anyone who likes to think that there’s still some things we know nothing of in this world.
Willie Upton was one of those characters that, whether or not I related to her or agreed with her decisions, I wanted to know more. I wanted to know why, how, where she goes from here. And her mother, the hippy! Vi was a trip and I loved her parts in the book. Her interaction with her daughter was unique and at once harsh and honest, but loving and gentle.
This is my second novel in a row deeply steeped in real history, but this time fabricated American history. Kind of like Look Homeward Angel by Thomas Wolfe. Everyone knows who the characters are based on, but they’re still fictional.
I really enjoyed this book. The story took hold and led the way through a series of event and lives that fascinated me and I would definitely recommend this book. The best part? I got it off the bargain table at Books-A-Million. Bargain finds rock!

This entry was posted in Reading & Books, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

