If We were Having Coffee – A special post

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that my family is driving me nuts over my wedding. Different ideas of what is acceptable are causing some tension, but it will work out. There’s no other option besides it all working out, not for us.
If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that I want to query a state magazine for the first time. I haven’t mentioned this to anyone but Bear, and I’m still debating on it. It’s not so much a question of am I capable, it’s whether or not that is truly a path I want to go down. The newspaper worked out well for a while, but eventually got to the point where it wasn’t for me anymore, and I didn’t have the time to put into their articles to get them out in a week’s time. I want to expand my writing horizons, but I want to do it right.
If we were having coffee, I’d say that Dawn Rising has come along beautifully this week! I figured to meet my goal of 40,000 words minimum by November 1st, I’d have to put out around 533 words a day, 3,500 a week. This week I did over 5,000 and I haven’t even done any writing yet this weekend to consider.
If we were having coffee, I’d confess how blessed I feel. For all the tension and stress in my life right now, Bear and I have truly been blessed. We’re starting out in our own place, paying our own way, and we still have flexibility to do as we please. So many, our parents included, didn’t have the luxuries we enjoy when they were our age.
If we were sipping on coffee, I’d excitedly explain the Destiny release coming up and how Bear and I have already pre-ordered our copies for the Xbox 360. We both eagerly anticipate the game because, for the first time since Gears of War 3 was released in 2011, our gaming clan seems to be coming together for one game and it is a beautiful thing to play with your special people.
I didn’t do a blog shout-out Wednesday (Bad Kel! *slaps hand*) so I want to use this link-up opportunity to give a shout to the one who called for it! Just Gene’O, I love your posts and look forward to reading more in the future!
As we rinse out our coffee cups, I just have one more thing to say. Man, I wish I’d had some Bailey’s to go in that coffee.

This entry was posted in Kelswitching & Reflecting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to If We were Having Coffee – A special post

  1. Congartulations on your wedding! It will all work out in the end. It’s the family’s job to make things less boring for you 🙂

    My father drove me crazy when we were planning our wedding. In the end, things were we lived got really bad (I’m talking “war” bad) that we ended up getting married in another country, with only our witnesses there. We had gyros sandwiches and fries after that, and it was one of the best days of my life. No matter what happens, this is your day. It’s a celebration of love, and it will be fabulous!

    The best of luck to both of you!

  2. Gene'O says:

    Congrats on the wedding and on that word count. I’d say my overall word count has averaged 2500 – 4000 a week since I started the hard core blogging. I could never produce fiction at that pace, though (hmmm. Fiction. Gotta get back to doing some of that . . ).

    Thanks for joining in!

    • Stephanie says:

      I didn’t use to keep track of blog word counts before this year. They don’t really count for much of my overall word count, but they’re a nice little chunk sometimes. 🙂

      • Gene'O says:

        They’re all I’ve written for most of a year, because a big bunch of us started in November with the idea of building a huge network by producing a steady stream of content. I put things on hold and have been working it like a startup for nine months now. Totally the right decision, as long as I live long enough to get back to the fiction 🙂

      • Stephanie says:

        That sounds awesome! Here’s hoping you get back to fiction soon!

  3. eclecticalli says:

    Weddings are always crazy. I didn’t believe that until I saw a couple closer-up… always crazy.
    I can understand the uncertainty on the querying a magazine — I’ve been trying to figure out what path to take with my writing, which opportunities do I want to spend my time focusing on? Not easy to figure out!

    • Stephanie says:

      No it’s not, but it’s part of the journey. 🙂
      It’s funny planning it now and getting advice/words of wisdom from people who have already been through it. This kind of stress is like the best kept secret of wedding planning.

Leave a Reply

