NaNoWriMo

In the weekly chat of 10 Minute Novelists on Facebook, the topic was National Novel Writing Month. Better known as NaNoWriMo. In a nutshell, the premise is you write a novel in the month of November. That’s thirty days to write 50,000 words. I’ve been aware of this challenge for years and until this point, had one reason or another to not participate. It used to be because I was in school and just did not have the time to dedicate to that kind of thing, and last year I had just finished a 100,000 word novel. I wasn’t interested in undertaking anything close to that size again so soon.
I think I’m going to try it this year.
Dawn Rising has kicked into gear and thus far this week, been going very well. I’m 8,000 words in, give or take, and have a goal of 40,000 minimum. I’ve set a goal for myself to have the first draft DONE before November 1st. If I can do that, which I think I can, there should be a lull between my wedding on October 11th and when the holiday season really kicks in. That’s the perfect time to write, or start writing, the first draft of the full novel coming after Shadows Rising and Dawn Rising.
Dawn Rising will be an ebook. When I’m satisfied that it is ready (who knows when that will actually be), I will upload it to Kindle Direct Publishing, same as I did its predecessor, Shadows Rising. My goal is to have the story wrap up nicely so no one is ready to choke me for waiting on the first novel, a novel which I am going to attempt to publish traditionally. That means the nearly year wait between novellas? Might be a joke compared to the wait for the novel, but that’s what I want to do.
If I keep up the pace I’ve been doing this week on Dawn Rising until it is finished, that 1,500 words a day for the NaNoWriMo challenge should be a breeze. Keep your fingers crossed.
 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writers & Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

