One Year Ago

I didn’t think I’d get a blog written for this Writer Wednesday. It’s been a busy week. Wedding planning is in full swing, I’m establishing an exercise routine this week, and I’ve ventured into the world of tanning beds for the first time. But as I was winding down Tuesday night, tying up some odds and ends with my word count for the day and other things, I glanced back in my writer’s log. One year ago on August 5th, I finished the first draft of a 100,000+ word novel. It felt slow going at the time, but in retrospect I can see the bigger picture.
I wrote a 100,000+ novel in less than three months.
Rough drafts are always horrible though. It won’t see the light of day anytime soon. Not just because it isn’t ready, but because the storyline has changed in my mind’s eye. Shadows Rising was originally written to serve as the prequel to this novel and it mostly still works, but my vision for the series that comes after has changed. It is ever evolving. I posted on my Facebook page earlier this week about possibly dropping hints on the Kelswitch as to what comes after Shadows Rising.
Oh, by the way, new followers, if you are unfamiliar with Shadows Rising… It is the novella I published on Amazon in January. Give it a looksie if you care to.
People have been bugging me for months about tying up the loose ends and *ahem* cliffhanger I left things on. Sorry to keep you waiting and I really appreciate the enthusiasm. It is with trepidation that I announce the planned sequel to Shadows Rising. In June, I began work on Dawn Rising. It picks up right where Shadows left off in the world.
I’ve been working on it for two months now, but haven’t gotten very far with it. Between work and everything else, you’re not interested in my excuses, but know I am working on it. I have no idea when it will be ready because I can’t write at the pace I did last year. I’m really kicking myself for not taking better advantage of all that free time I had, but the situation was what it was and it’s a year I’ll pick the bones for what I need to take away moving forward, and leave the rest for the scavengers.
Lest I forget again, my blog recommendation for this Writer Wednesday is Mrs. Leap of Faith! I’ve been following her blog for a while now and she’s just a delightful read on a regular basis. The kind of thing you read as you leisurely sip on a delicious cup of coffee. Have a good hump day, everyone. I’ll be jamming to Godsmack’s new album today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writers & Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Year Ago

  1. Great description of a blog “read as you leisurely sip …” Shadows Rising sounds like a great title to a great story.

Leave a Reply

