And You Lost Me

Before I jump on this week’s edition of Friday Reader Rambles, I want to address something I’ve forgotten to do on Writer Wednesday over the last couple of weeks: A blog shout out. This time around, I’ve got one that’s a little different from the usual but if you like gaming is a must follow.
This woman is very special and inspired me to fork out the money so you could visit carolinakel.com and not carolinakel.wordpress.com. Show some love to the neurotic gamer. Tell her Carolina Kel sent you! And now, on with the program.
I chose this week’s title “And You Lost Me” for a very specific purpose. I had one of those disheartening moments as a reader where I decided I could not finish what I was reading. The book in question is called The Romance Readers’ Book Club by Julie L. Cannon and it was fished out of a dollar bin at the local used bookstore. I can’t really find fault with the writing, but the subject matter was making me scrunch my face up a little too often. Not for the romance or any explicit material; I read 50 Shades with nary a blush.
What I was not expecting when I picked up this book was the constant religious undertones. The main character is only fifteen, so I should cut her some slack, but her constant back and forth about sin and questioning the morality of the book club just got to be too much for me. I love the setting and the characters were a lot of fun to read, but I can’t get through the rest of it. Maybe it’s because of my personal history that I can’t stomach much more of the religious debate within this young girl.
If you want to give this book a try, I’d be happy to pass it along to someone who might enjoy it more than I did.
Here’s to more reading and more writing. Enjoy your weekend, folks! Carolina Kel, over and out.

This entry was posted in Reading & Books, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And You Lost Me

  1. M.R.R. says:

    I don’t like a lot the protagonists in religious fiction I’ve read, and I’m a Christian. I think it’s mainly most of them are just so stupid it makes me want to yell at them.

    • Stephanie says:

      I have no idea if this was considered religious fiction or not. Like I said, it was fished out of a dollar bin at the used bookstore. But it just grated on me. Not a bad book, but not for me. And there was some desire to yell there too. 😉

Leave a Reply

